fun88 India
All About Cricket

Names Of 24-Member Squad For England Series

The Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) Selection Committee has named the national squad for the forthcoming limited-overs series against England.

T20I and ODI Series

The Sri Lankan team will leave in the early hours of June 9th,2021, for the T20I and ODI series, Beginning June23, Sri Lanka and England will play three T20Is and three ODIs against each other.

Dissatisfaction With The Contracts

The cricketers had been vocal about their dissatisfaction with the contracts, which they said lacked transparency and underpaid veteran players.

“This is the transparency the players had been requesting from the outset,” lawyer Nishan Premathiratne said

“They will play this tour without signing any contract. They have signed a voluntary declaration, but there is nothing there about player remuneration. They have always been committed to playing for Sri Lanka,” he added.

Refusing To Sign The Tour Contracts

Thirty-eight Sri Lanka cricketers had earlier signed a statement refusing to sign the tour contracts, an increase from the previous 24 players who had expressed opposition to the new arrangement.

Sri Lanka squad for the series against England:

  • Kusal Perera (c),
  • Kusal Mendis,
  • Danushka Gunathilaka,
  • Avishka Fernando,
  • Pathum Nissanka,
  • Niroshan Dickwella,
  • Dhananjaya de Silva,
  • Oshada Fernando,
  • Charith Asalanka,
  • Dasun Shanaka,
  • Wanindu Hasaranga,
  • Ramesh Mendis,
  • Chamika Karunaratne,
  • Dhananjaya Lakshan,
  • Ishan Jayaratne,
  • Dushmantha Chameera,
  • Isuru Udana,
  • Asitha Fernando,
  • Nuwan Pradeep,
  • Shiran Fernando,
  • Lakshan Sandakan,
  • Akila Dananjaya,
  • Praveen Jayawickrama

Related Posts

Leave a Reply