fun88 India
All About Cricket

Mahmudullah Added To Bangladesh Test Squad

Mahmudullah, an all-rounder, has been named to Bangladesh’s Test team for the upcoming tour to Zimbabwe, according to the Bangladesh Cricket Board. Mahmudullah, the T20 captain, has been absent from the longest format for more than a year, with his last Test match taking place in February 2020 against Pakistan. His Test recall was prompted by the fact that he is now totally fit the bowl.

Hesitant To Include Mahmudullah

Previously, the Bangladesh team management had been hesitant to include Mahmudullah for Test cricket since he had been unable to bowl owing to injury. However, the all-rounder has just begun bowling, taking 17 wickets in 16 games in the ongoing Dhaka Premier League T20. The 35-year-old recently announced his return to bowling.

With the arrival of Mahmudullah, the Test team currently has 18 men. Shakib Al Hasan was also selected in the roster revealed a few days ago, with the left-handed all-rounder returning to the Test team after missing the Sri Lanka Test series to play in the Indian Premier League.

Backup In Case Veteran Batters Is Unavailable

Meanwhile, Tamim Iqbal, Taskin Ahmed, and Mushfiqur Rahim, who is currently out of the Dhaka Premier League due to injury, are likely to return in time for the Zimbabwe visit. According to BCB cricket operations chairman Akram Khan, Mahmudullah’s presence acts as a backup in case one of the veteran batters is unavailable.

“Look Tamim and Mushfiqur have injuries so we have included Mahmudullah as he is a senior member and we don’t want to take any risk,” Akram Khan said. ”As he is bowling, naturally it was also considered behind his inclusion.”

The Zimbabwe Tour

The Zimbabwe tour’s only Test begins on July 7 at the Harare Sports Club. Bangladesh will also play three T20 internationals and a three-match one-day international series in Zimbabwe as part of the ICC Cricket World Cup Super League.

The tourists will play a two-day practice match on July 3 and 4 in Harare before the Test, and another warm-up match on July 14-two days before the ODI series begins. The three ODIs will be held in Harare in July16,18, and20, while the three T20Is will be held on July23,25, and 27.

Bangladesh Test squad:

  • Mominul Haque (c),
  • Tamim Iqbal,
  • Shadman Islam,
  • Saif Hassan,
  • Najmul Hossain,
  • Mushfiqur Rahim,
  • Shakib Al Hasan,
  • Liton Das,
  • Yasir Ali,
  • Nurul Hasan,
  • Mehidy Hasan,
  • Taijul Islam,
  • Nayeem Hasan,
  • Abu Jayed,
  • Ebadot Hossain,
  • Taskin Ahmed,
  • Shoriful Islam,
  • Mahmudullah.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply