fun88 India
All About Cricket

Lanka Premier League Terminates One Franchise

One more Lanka Premier League franchise has had its contract with Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) terminated (LPL). The team’s name has not been announced, however, it is the Jaffna franchise, which is owned by a group of Indian and Sri Lankan investors from Australia, Canada, France, the United Kingdom, and the United States.

Jaffna Franchise

Following combined action by the SLC and league rights holders-Innovative Production Group FZE (IPG) of Dubai-against Colombo Kings and Dambulla Viiking late last month, the Jaffna franchise becomes the third team to face termination from the league. All three teams have been eliminated from the competition.

The organizers have new proprietors who have submitted their KYCs to the International Cricket Council (ICC). Approximately eight new parties have expressed interest in joining the league, and once the ICC clearance has been received, the appropriate parties will be onboarded. The SLC is likely to make a formal announcement on the latest firing soon.

LPL Second Edition

The Mahinda Rajapaksa International Stadium in Hambantota will host the second edition of the LPL from July 30 to August 22. Galle Gladiators, Jaffna Stallions, Kandy Tuskers, Colombo Kings, and Dambulla Viiking are the five teams in the LPL. Thisara Perera previously led the Jaffna Stallions.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply