fun88 India
All About Cricket Cricket Prediction

ICC’s East-Asia Pacific qualifiers in Japan cancelled

The East-Asia Pacific qualifiers, which were scheduled to take place in Japan, have been canceled, according to the International Cricket Council. The tournament served as a qualifier for the 2022 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup and the 2023 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup. Apart from host Japan, the Cook Islands, Fiji, Indonesia, the Philippines, Samoa, South Korea, and Vanuatu were scheduled to compete in the men’s tournament in October.

Cook Islands

Cook Islands, Fiji, Indonesia, Japan, Philippines, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, and Vanuatu were scheduled to compete in the women’s tournament in November. Because they were the highest-ranked team in the men’s ranking, the Philippines will now advance to the next round. The team with the highest ranking on the cut-off date of November 30, 2021, will advance to the global qualifier for the women’s tournament.

“We have unfortunately had to cancel the EAP Qualifiers to the Men’s and Women’s T20 World Cups as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic,” Chris Tetley, ICC’s head of events, said. “With the current travel restrictions and quarantine requirements for traveling countries meant the only course of action was to cancel. We would like to thank all participating Members for their patience and support in coming to this decision.

“Following the decision taken by the ICC Board in November 2020 concerning canceled qualifying events the Philippines will now qualify for the next stage of the Men’s pathway. For the women, the team that will advance to the global qualifier based on the rankings will be determined at the end of November 2021.” The ICC has also been forced to change the dates of the Americas qualifier for the Women’s T20 World Cup, which will be held in Mexico from October 18 to 25 and will feature Argentina, Brazil, Canada, and the United States.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply