fun88 India
All About Cricket Cricket Prediction Series

West Indies vs Australia,1st ODI Visitors win by 133 runs

After Aaron Finch was ruled out due to injury, Cricket Australia confirmed that Alex Carey will captain Australia in the first one-day international against the West Indies.

Right-Knee Injury worsened

Finch worsened a right knee injury against the West Indies in the fifth Twenty20 match last week, and Cricket Australia said his availability for the second and third ODIs will be monitored daily. All three games will take place in Barbados.

Australia’s 20th ODI captain

Carey,29, will be Australia’s 26th ODI captain, filling in for regular vice-captain Pat Cummins, who is missing the West Indies tour along with some prominent players such as Steve Smith and David Warner.

Carey, who has previously led Australia A, the Adelaide Strikers, and South Australia, stated, “I am very honored to be able to lead the team while Aaron heals.”

“To the captain, Australia is one of the greatest privileges in sport and honor I am extremely thankful to receive. Finchy is our captain and we will welcome him back with open arms when he is fully fit, so for now I hope I can fill the role to his extremely high standards.”

Carey’s Leadership Potential

Although not in cricket, Carey’s leadership aptitude was recognized at a young age. He was the first official skipper of the Greater Western Sydney Giants, the Australian Football League’s newest team when they were still in Victoria’s Under-18 division.

He switched his focus to cricket after learning he had been cut from the squad due to a lack of speed. Within two years, he had made his debut for South Australia.

Since making his ODI debut against England in2018, the left-hander has established himself as a strong contender to succeed Tim Paine as Australia’s Test wicketkeeper when he retires.


  • WI XI:  Evin Lewis, Darren Bravo, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Mohammed, Nicholas Pooran (wk), Kieron Pollard (c), Jason Holder, Hayden Walsh, Sheldon Cottrell, Alzarri Joseph, Akeal Hosein
  • AUS XI:  Ben McDermott, Josh Philippe, Mitchell Marsh, Moises Henriques, Alex Carey (c & wk), Ashton Turner, Matthew Wade, Mitchell Starc, Wes Agar, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood

Read More: Bairstow, Qais Ahmed give Welsh Fire winning start

Related Posts

Leave a Reply