fun88 India
All About Cricket

Herwadkar leaves Mumbai, Jackson returns to Saurashtra

Akhil Herwadkar, a left-handed opener who made his first-class debut in2011, has decided to depart Mumbai after failing to make the Mumbai Cricket Association’s list of probables for a pre-season camp.

MCA Granted the NOC

The 26-year-old, who scored 879 runs in Mumbai’s title-winning 2015-16 season, last played for the team three years ago in2018, has asked the Mumbai Cricket Association for permission to return (MCA). The NOC was given by the MCA a few days ago. Despite the fact that Herwadkar has not revealed which state he will relocate to, it is reported that Puducherry is looking for a left-handed opening batter.

Sheldon Jackson, a domestic veteran, has opted to return to Saurashtra after working for a year in Puducherry as a professional. The 34-year-old batsman, who was a member of their Ranji Trophy-winning squad in the 2019-20 season, will play for his stateside this year, according to Saurashtra Cricket Association (SCA) president Jaidev Shah.

“We need a left-handed opener but we have options. We have time to decide,” a Cricket Association of Pondicherry official said.

The 45-member list

Meanwhile, the Mumbai senior selection committee, which includes Salil Ankola (chairman), Ghulam Parkar, Sunil More, Anand Yalvigi, and Prasad Desai, has chosen Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Shardul Thakur, Prithvi Shaw, and Suryakumar Yadav from the 45-member list.

“We want to start the camp early. Last year, there was a bit of delay and it reflected in our performance in Syed Mushtaq Ali tournament (Mumbai had failed to reach the knock-outs of the tournament). As the BCCI has already announced the domestic schedule, we want to have the players ready and fit soon,” the chief selector said.

Probables in Mumbai

  • Rohit Sharma,
  • Ajinkya Rahane,
  • Shreyas Iyer,
  • Suryakumar Yadav,
  • Shardul Thakur,
  • Prithvi Shaw,
  • Dhaval Kulkarni,
  • Shivam Dube,
  • Aditya Tare,
  • Yashasvi Jaiswal,
  • Sarfaraz Khan,
  • Arjun Tendulkar,
  • Siddhesh Lad,
  • Aakarshit Gomel,
  • Pragnesh Kanpillewar,
  • Divyansh Saxena,
  • Chinmay Sutar,
  • Arman Jaffer,
  • Suved Parkar,
  • Bhupen Lalwani,
  • Hardik Tamore,
  • Akash Parkar,
  • Aman Khan,
  • Shubham Ranjane,
  • Sujit Nayak,
  • Sairaj Patil,
  • Prasad Pawar,
  • Shams Mulani,
  • Atharva Ankolekar,
  • Dhrumil Matkar,
  • Shreyas Gurav,
  • Tanush Kotian,
  • Ankush Jaiswal,
  • Shashank Attarde,
  • Prashant Solanki,
  • Parikshit Valsangkar,
  • Tushar Deshpande,
  • Mohit Awasthi,
  • Nikhil Date
  • , Roystan Dias,
  • Atif Attarwala,
  • Siddharth Raut,
  • Kruthik Hanagawadi,
  • Deepak Shetty
  • Ravi Solanki

Related Posts

Leave a Reply